Rhode Island has very high property taxes with few options to reduce them.
What is the Rhode Island property tax rate?
Rhode Island property taxes are set at the city and town level.
Residential real estate property tax rates range from about $8 per $1,000 in value to about $24 per $1,000 in value. Most places are around $15 per $1,000. $15 per $1,000 is equivalent to a 1.5% average property tax rate.
Commercial real property taxes are often higher and can be as much as $38 per $1,000.
There are also personal property taxes as high as $70 per $1,000 and motor vehicle taxes as high as $35 per $1,000.
Local Rhode Island Property Tax Rates for Residential Real Estate
Each city or town sets its own property tax rate. Here are some of the most common property tax rates.
- Newport: $9.33 per $1,000
- Providence: $24.56 per $1,000
- Warwick: $18.73 per $1,000
Does Rhode Island have a homestead exemption?
Unlike other states, Rhode Island doesn’t have a general homestead exemption that reduces the property taxes on your primary residence. Most homeowners pay property taxes based on the full fair market value of their home.
Rhode Island does have a legal homestead exemption that can protect your home from creditors.
Do Rhode Island seniors pay property tax?
Rhode Island doesn’t have a general exemption for seniors or age to stop paying property taxes.
Some local governments do offer senior citizens a discount on your property tax bill. This is often a fixed dollar amount in taxes.
Since possible tax discounts vary widely by location, you’ll need to contact your local tax collector or chat with a tax expert online.
Does Rhode Island have a veteran’s exemption?
Many local governments offer discounts to veterans. There may be discounts for all veterans, elderly veterans, disabled veterans, spouses, and Gold Star parents.
Again, you’ll need to contact your local tax assessor’s office since these programs are determined by the local government.
When are Rhode Island property taxes due?
Rhode Island property tax due dates vary by location. There isn’t a statewide due date.
If you move from one Rhode Island home to another, you shouldn’t assume your due date will remain the same.
Many places give you the option to make quarterly payments. You will still usually get an annual tax bill.
What happens if you don’t pay your property taxes in Rhode Island?
When you don’t pay your property tax bill, there are several steps that can happen.
You have to pay a late payment penalty and/or interest
A tax lien is placed on your home
The tax lien is foreclosed on, or your home is sold in a tax sale
How long it takes to move from one step to the next and the specific procedures vary by local government.
If you’re struggling to pay your taxes, contact your local tax office as soon as possible. Ask if they offer a circuit breaker to reduce or delay payments, a tax freeze to prevent property tax increases, payment plans, or other options.