Kansas has a state income tax rate of 3.1% to 5.7% depending on your income.
Who has to pay Kansas state income taxes?
All Kansas residents are required to pay Kansas state tax.
Non-residents with income in Kansas are also required to pay Kansas income tax on their Kansas income.
What if I live in one state and work in another?
If you work in a different state than where you live, you will usually need to file state tax returns in both states.
For example, many people commute between Kansas and Missouri and have to file both Kansas and Missouri taxes. This applies whether you live in Kansas and work in Missouri or live in Missouri and work in Kansas.
You will generally get a credit for taxes paid to another state, so you won’t pay double state taxes. For example, if one state charges 4% and another 6%, you usually won’t pay more than 6% total (instead of paying 10%).
Does Kansas tax Social Security?
Kansas generally doesn’t tax Social Security if your Adjusted Gross Income is $75,000 or less.
What is the income tax rate in Kansas?
The income tax rate in Kansas varies based on your income.
|Tax Rate||Income — Joint Filer||Income — Others|
|5.25%||$30,000 to $60,000||$15,000 to $30,00|
Kansas tax rates are marginal. For example, if you make $20,000 as a single filer, you’ll pay 3.1% on your first $15,000 and 5.25% only on your next $5,000.
Unlike IRS tax brackets, the Kansas tax brackets don’t change with inflation each year. The tax brackets stay the same until changed by law.
How much does Kansas take out in taxes?
If you work in Kansas, your employer should have you fill out a Form K-4. This is the Kansas version of the IRS W-4 Form.
Your tax withholding should be roughly equal to the tax you’ll owe according to your tax bracket.
What is the standard deduction in Kansas?
The Kansas standard deduction depends on your filing status.
|Filing Status||Through 2022||2023 and Beyond|
|Head of Household||$6,000||$7,500|
The standard deduction for dependents is the greater of $500 or up to $3,000 in wage income.
There are additional special standard deductions of:
- $850 for single taxpayers who are age 65 or older
- $850 for single taxpayers who are blind
- $700 for married taxpayers who are age 65 or older
- $700 for married taxpayers who are blind
Other Kansas Taxes
Kansas also has a statewide sales tax of 6.5%. Local governments can add an additional tax with the average combined rate being 8.7% and the highest being 10.6%.
Kansas property taxes average to about 1.32% of the property’s value.
3 thoughts on “State Tax for Kansas”
I tele-commute for a company out of New Jersey – I moved from Pennsylvania to Kansas in November – do I have to pay Kansas state income tax?? Also, I’m retired military, is my military retirement taxable by Kansas?
my husband died and had not paid some of his state taxes since he is dead am i respinsable for those taxes
It’s possible. This is definitely something you should ask a local Kansas tax professional about.